Determining Levels of Care in Hospice

November 10, 2020 at 2pm ET / 11am PT

There are four different levels of care provided under the Medicare Hospice Benefit. These levels help provide appropriate care for different end of life scenarios, many of which happen with hospice patients in long term care facility settings.

This course will help administrators, clinicians, & facility staff:

  • Identify the four levels of care provided by hospice
  • Distinguish the differences between continuous care and general inpatient level of care
  • List three locations where general inpatient level of care can be provided
  • Name potential symptoms that may require a higher level of care
  • Identify when respite care can be utilized to assist families caring for their loved ones

This course is eligible for one hour of CE/CME for RNs, Social Workers, MDs, NPs, Physician Assistants, and Long Term Care Administrators. If you have questions about this course please email communityeducation@seasons.org.


Ellen Hoekstra | Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care
Ellen hoekstra
Community Educator
Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care

Ellen Hoekstra, RN CHPN is a registered nurse with over 36 years of nursing experience in critical care, case management, and hospice education. Ms. Hoekstra earned her CHPN (Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Nurse) distinction in 2010. In her current role as Community Educator with Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care, Inc. she has had the privilege to educate thousands on a variety of topics relating to End of Life Care. In addition, Ms. Hoekstra has been instrumental in developing many of the educational programs available through Seasons Hospice and Palliative Care, Inc.

Register for this Course

Seasons Healthcare Management Inc., dba Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care #1237, is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved as ACE providers. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credit. Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care maintains responsibility for this course. ACE provider approval period: 1/20/2019-1/20/2022.

Social workers completing this course receive 1 hour of continuing education credits. Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care is accredited as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. Provider # P0355.
This activity is approved for one hour of CME via the American Academy of Family Physicians.
This activity is approved for one hour of CE via the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards.